Comparison
India or South Korea? They mostly are not competing for the same patient.
South Korea’s inbound medical tourism is real and growing very fast, and it is aimed mainly at a different patient than the one this site usually hears from. This page is for the reader, especially from the United States or the Gulf, who has started looking at South Korea and wants to know exactly what its numbers show before deciding where India fits.
South Korea’s government reports a very large and fast growing inbound patient count: 605,768 foreign patients in 2023, 1.17 million in 2024, and 2.01 million in 2025, the first year the national total passed two million since tracking began in 2009. The same government reporting shows that volume is concentrated overwhelmingly in dermatology and cosmetic or plastic surgery, together accounting for roughly three quarters of all foreign patient visits in 2025. Cardiac surgery and oncology are not named as leading categories in any of the last three years of official releases.
For complex cardiac surgery, cancer treatment, transplant and revision orthopaedic surgery, the categories where India’s inbound volume concentrates, South Korea’s own statistics do not show a comparable documented volume, and we could not find a published South Korea cardiac surgery cost figure anywhere. Fertility treatment is the real middle ground: South Korea runs a large, peer reviewed national IVF registry, and its published cycle costs sit between India’s and the United States’, similar in shape to the way weight loss surgery sits between India and Mexico on our India or Mexico comparison.
For a reader in the Gulf, the trip shape looks different again. On the flight time data we could find, the nonstop flight from the Gulf to South Korea runs roughly two to two and a half times longer than the nonstop flight from the Gulf to India, so South Korea is not the nearby option for a Gulf patient the way Mexico is for a US one.

Medically reviewed
Reviewed by Dr Gunjan Patel, MBBS, registered with the Gujarat Medical Council (G-65059). Reviewed for accuracy only. This page is general information, not advice about your own case, and Dr Gunjan Patel does not diagnose, prescribe or treat.
How we compared
The criteria, stated before the conclusion.
So you can disagree with the method rather than just the answer.
- What each country’s inbound foreign-patient volume is really made of. Not what either country’s tourism marketing claims
- Total journey cost. Including flights and any companion’s travel, not the procedure quote alone
- Accreditation as a floor, not a ranking. In both countries
- Entry requirements, flight time and language, for two audiences separately. A US reader and a Gulf reader face different trips
- Follow-up care at home. Which happens in both cases regardless of where the procedure took place
We arrange treatment in India and not in South Korea, so we have a financial interest in this comparison. That is exactly why the criteria are published above, and why South Korea comes out ahead on more than one point below. We are paid a flat fee by the patient, never a commission from any hospital, so recommending South Korea for a case that fits it costs us a booking rather than protecting one.
The fact that decides most cases
South Korea and India rarely compete for the same procedure.
South Korea’s Ministry of Health and Welfare reports that in 2025, dermatology accounted for 1.313 million patient visits, 62.9 percent of the national total, plastic surgery for 233,000, 11.2 percent, general internal medicine for 192,000, 9.2 percent, and health-screening centers for 65,000, 3.1 percent. Dermatology and plastic surgery together account for 74.1 percent of all foreign-patient visits. Cardiology, cardiac surgery and oncology are not named as distinct leading categories in the 2023, 2024 or 2025 government releases we found. Korean hospital classification lists internal medicine as a general department, not an oncology-specific one, so that figure should not be read as evidence of cancer-treatment volume.
Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare, 2025 foreign-patient statistics release, corroborated by Korea Biomedical Review, Korea Herald and Korea Times Checked 2026-09-09.
This is the single most important finding for the page: South Korea's documented inbound volume is not concentrated in cardiac surgery or oncology. 'Internal medicine' in Korean hospital classification is a general department, not oncology-specific, and should not be read as evidence of cancer-treatment volume. The release does not state plainly whether these percentages are of unique patients (2.01 million) or of total visits including repeats (2.72 million); neither denominator reconciles exactly with the reported dermatology figure, so read the percentages as the source's own reported specialty share rather than a total we have independently cross-checked.
That concentration is a strength for South Korea, not a weakness. A market at that scale, built around a narrow set of procedures, gets good at exactly those procedures, the same logic this site already applies to Mexico’s dental and cosmetic volume. India’s inbound flow is shaped differently: its highest-volume centers sit in cardiac surgery, cancer treatment, transplant and complex or revision orthopaedics. South Korea does not have a comparable documented volume in any of those categories on the figures we could find, and no government or peer-reviewed South Korea cardiac-surgery cost figure turned up in this research at all, an absence that is itself informative.
Absence noted after multiple targeted searches Checked 2026-09-09.
This absence mirrors the finding the India-or-Mexico page already makes about Mexico and cardiac surgery: South Korea's inbound medical-tourism industry does not appear to market cardiac surgery to foreign patients at scale, consistent with the specialty-breakdown finding above.
Fertility treatment is the real overlap worth naming. South Korea’s national ART registry, published in a peer-reviewed Korean reproductive-medicine journal, recorded 200,007 total infertility-treatment cycles in 2022 across 201 certified centers, with a clinical pregnancy rate per embryo transfer of 30.2 percent for fresh transfers and 42.0 percent for frozen-thawed transfers. The registry’s own authors note it is not linked to birth-outcome data, so no live-birth rate is available for that year. On South Korea’s own donor-gamete rules, it is worth knowing before you assume otherwise: the country’s Bioethics and Safety Act requires spousal consent before eggs or sperm can be taken from a donor who has a spouse, which in practice functions, per Korean press reporting, as a restriction on donor insemination and donor-gamete IVF to married or common-law couples, similar in effect to the restriction India’s own ART Act creates through its definition of a commissioning couple, reached by a different instrument.
A genuine national ART registry annual report in a peer-reviewed journal, but the PDF's own text could not be extracted directly; the cycle count and pregnancy-rate figures came from indirect extraction attempts and a search-engine abstract summary rather than a confirmed read of the primary paper, so this is rated attributed rather than verified pending a direct read of the source.
The Korea Herald, 'IVF restrictions called into question', 18 November 2020, corroborated by secondary legal and medical commentary Checked 2026-09-09.
Relayed via Korea Herald reporting on the Act rather than a direct reading of the statute's own text; not immigration or legal advice. The same practical conclusion, that donor-gamete IVF is in practice restricted to married or common-law couples in both countries, holds either way.
What the same procedure costs
Compare the total, not the headline number.
On published commercial pricing, self-interested provider and agency pages, not a survey, in both countries, South Korea’s cosmetic-surgery costs commonly run roughly 2,100 to 9,000 dollars for rhinoplasty, 4,500 to 7,000 dollars for eyelid surgery, 1,400 to 15,400 dollars for a facelift, commonly quoted nearer 8,400 to 8,500 dollars, and 6,000 to 15,000 dollars for breast augmentation. India’s published pricing on the same four procedures runs lower across the board: roughly 1,080 to 3,000 dollars for rhinoplasty, 480 to 2,400 dollars for eyelid surgery, 1,800 dollars to upward of 6,600 dollars for a facelift, and 1,500 to 3,600 dollars for breast augmentation.
Compiled from multiple South Korea-based cosmetic-surgery provider and medical-tourism-agency pricing pages Checked 2026-09-09.
Self-interested marketing pricing with a wide spread between sources; stated as South Korea provider pricing generally, without naming any district or city, per the site's no-city-name rule.
Compiled from multiple India-based cosmetic-surgery provider pricing pages Checked 2026-09-09.
Same caveat as the South Korea figures: self-interested published pricing with a wide spread, not a survey. Stated as Indian private hospital published pricing without naming any city.
In 2022, US national average surgeon and facility fees, before anesthesia or any other cost, were 4,617 dollars for breast augmentation, 7,465 dollars for a tummy tuck, and 2,764 dollars for liposuction
The Aesthetic Society, 2022 National Databank Statistics Checked 2026-09-09.
The source says these averages reflect only surgeon and facility fees and may not include anesthesia, medical tests, prescriptions, surgical garments or other related costs.
On breast augmentation, that US average sits above India’s published range and below South Korea’s, and it leaves out anaesthesia, so neither comparison is a like-for-like total.
IVF cost follows a similar middle pattern to weight-loss surgery on the India or Mexico page. South Korea’s commercial pricing pages commonly quote roughly 4,000 to 8,200 dollars per cycle. 15,000 to 30,000 dollars is the commonly reported range for a single IVF cycle paid without insurance in the United States, once medication, monitoring and lab fees are added to the base procedure, and most patients need more than one cycle to have a child. A single standard IVF cycle in the UAE is commonly quoted at AED 25,000 to 45,000, roughly 6,800 to 12,250 US dollars. India’s commonly quoted range for a comparable base package runs roughly 1,300 to 4,600 US dollars, so even the top of the India range sits below the bottom of the UAE range. A separate claim of 50 to 60 percent success rates per transfer for South Korea does not match, and is far higher than, the peer-reviewed national registry figures above, so we left it out as uncorroborated marketing language.
Compiled from multiple South Korea-based fertility-clinic and medical-tourism pricing pages Checked 2026-09-09.
Commercial pricing pages, not a survey. A separate claim of 50 to 60 percent per-transfer success rates for South Korea was left out because it is inconsistent with, and far higher than, the peer-reviewed registry figures above, and reads as uncorroborated marketing language.
Compiled from fertility clinic and health cost publisher pricing guides, including Forbes Health and GoodRx Checked 2026-09-07.
No single government or peer reviewed survey publishes a current national average, so this is the range consistently reported across major cost guides rather than a quote for any individual clinic or case. A commonly cited base fee of around 12,400 dollars covers only egg retrieval and embryo transfer and excludes medication, which the same guides put at 30 to 40 percent of the total. That base figure circulates widely with an American Society for Reproductive Medicine attribution we could not trace to anything ASRM has actually published, so we do not repeat that attribution here.
UAE and Indian fertility clinic published pricing, cross-checked across several centres Checked 2026-09-07.
Published package pricing rather than a survey. Some UAE clinics advertise entry level packages below this range and premium clinics above it. Both figures typically exclude medication, genetic testing and donor egg or sperm programmes, which raise the total in either country, so a quote from either place is a starting point rather than a final bill.
Cancer-treatment cost is where the comparison changes shape. We found only commercial, medical-tourism-agency pricing for South Korea here, not a government or peer-reviewed dataset. Given that South Korea’s own statistics do not show oncology as a leading category of its inbound volume, this cost figure carries less weight for the page’s core argument than the specialisation finding above does. A chemotherapy cycle at leading private Indian hospitals commonly costs 420 to 1,200 dollars against 10,000 to 50,000 dollars commonly cited in the United States, and breast cancer surgery commonly runs 6,000 to 7,250 dollars in India against 90,000 to 180,000 dollars in the United States. Health screening is a smaller but real category on both the volume and the cost side.
Compiled from multiple South Korea-based cancer-treatment medical-tourism pricing pages Checked 2026-09-09.
No government or peer-reviewed South Korea oncology-cost dataset was found. Given that South Korea's own statistics do not show oncology as a leading category of inbound volume, this cost figure carries limited weight for the page's core argument.
Compiled from cancer-treatment cost comparison and medical-tourism industry pages Checked 2026-09-09.
Wide range, self-interested industry sources, no single government or peer-reviewed survey found for either country. Used only as an order of magnitude, not a quotable price for any individual case.
~$110-$3,700 per screening package
South Korea health-screening packages are commercially priced at roughly 110 to 300 dollars for a basic package, up to roughly 1,500 to 3,700 dollars for an executive-level package with imaging and endoscopy
Compiled from multiple South Korea-based health-screening provider pricing pages Checked 2026-09-09.
Commercial marketing pricing with a wide spread. A comparator figure for a 'comparable US exam' found on the same source pages was excluded because it is itself uncorroborated marketing framing, not a sourced US government or professional-body figure.
Why accreditation is worth checking, in both countries
South Korea runs its own domestic scheme, and how many hospitals also hold an international standard is not clear.
South Korea’s own domestic hospital-accreditation body is KOIHA, the Korea Institute for Healthcare Accreditation.
1,773 of 4,228 hospitals accredited
South Korea's domestic hospital-accreditation body, the Korea Institute for Healthcare Accreditation, established November 2010, had accredited 1,773 of the country's 4,228 hospitals as of 19 July 2024. Accreditation is mandatory for long-term care hospitals and for tertiary, specialized, training and research-oriented hospitals, but voluntary for ordinary hospitals
Peer-reviewed narrative review, 'Structure, function, and impact of hospital accreditation in South Korea', Journal of Hospital Management and Health Policy Checked 2026-09-09.
A large domestic scheme comparable in spirit to India's NABH figure already on this site, though the two schemes are not directly numerically comparable without normalizing for each country's total hospital count.
Beyond that domestic scheme, we could not resolve South Korea’s current count of internationally benchmarked accredited hospitals to one reliable number. South Korea's current count of internationally accredited hospitals is contested and could not be resolved to one reliable number; historical counts cited since 2007 range from 24 to 29, and one secondary compilation argues the currently active count has fallen to roughly five to eight as Korean hospitals increasingly rely on the domestic KOIHA scheme instead of repeated international re-survey. We attempted to check the relevant international directory directly and it returned an access error both times, so we are not stating a current South Korea figure on this point.
Multiple secondary compilations (Medical Tourism Watch and others); the accrediting body’s own directory could not be fetched Checked 2026-09-09.
Direct attempts to fetch the official accrediting body’s directory filtered to South Korea both returned an access error, so this could not be verified against a primary source. We do not state a specific current count on the page.
A real, tracked safety dataset for South Korea’s cosmetic-surgery sector does exist, and it is worth stating plainly.
50 plastic-surgery deaths, 14 foreign nationals (2016-2024)
A peer-reviewed forensic study analyzing National Forensic Service autopsy records found 50 plastic-surgery deaths in South Korea from 2016 to 2024, of which 14, 28 percent, were foreign nationals, with the annual count rising from 4 deaths in 2016 to 13 in 2024
'Beauty and Fatality: A Forensic Perspective on Periprocedural Deaths after Aesthetic Procedures', Korean Journal of Legal Medicine, 2025;49(4):133, reported via Korea Herald, February 2026 Checked 2026-09-09.
Identified during adversarial fact-checking of this page rather than in the original research pass, and relayed via Korea Herald's report of the peer-reviewed journal article rather than a direct read of the paper itself. This is a real, tracked, government-data-backed safety dataset for South Korea's cosmetic-surgery sector, comparable in kind, though a different risk category, forensic mortality rather than infectious outbreak, to the CDC-documented Mexico material already on this site.
Separately, a 2018 peer-reviewed paper describes what it calls ghost surgery, unlicensed or unauthorized staff performing part or all of a procedure on an anesthetized patient who believes the marketed surgeon is operating, as widespread within the industry at the time, with no law then criminalizing the practice itself. A 2018 peer-reviewed paper describes ghost surgery, unlicensed or unauthorized substitute personnel performing part or all of a procedure on an anesthetized patient who believes the marketed surgeon is operating, as having become widespread within Korea's cosmetic-surgery industry, noting that at the time, Korea had no law criminalizing the practice itself, only general criminal provisions that could theoretically be used to prosecute it. South Korea’s National Assembly responded with a 2021 amendment to its Medical Service Act requiring CCTV in any operating room used on an unconscious patient, effective from September 2023. Fines up to ~$3,700 for noncompliance South Korea’s National Assembly passed an amendment to the Medical Service Act, promulgated 24 September 2021, requiring any medical institution that operates on an unconscious patient to install CCTV in the operating room, effective 25 September 2023 after a two-year grace period, with fines up to roughly 3,700 dollars for noncompliance, publicly framed around protecting patients from malpractice and substitute-surgeon fraud. Unlicensed brokers exploiting foreign patients have also been a recurring, government-acknowledged problem. 11 brokers arrested, ~150 travel documents cancelled (2013) Unlicensed brokers exploiting foreign patients have been a recurring, government-acknowledged problem in South Korea: in May 2013 authorities reportedly arrested 11 illegal brokers and cancelled the travel documents of roughly 150 more for violating medical-solicitation law, some taking up to 90 percent of fees as commission; a more recent government work plan names eliminating unlicensed broker-run practices as a policy priority.
Hong SE et al., Annals of Surgical Treatment and Research, 2018 Checked 2026-09-09.
A documented, government-relevant patient-safety problem specific to South Korea’s cosmetic-surgery and foreign-patient segment, a fraud and malpractice pattern rather than a microbiological one, presented as such rather than as an outbreak.
Library of Congress, Global Legal Monitor, cross-checked against news coverage of the law taking effect Checked 2026-09-09.
A reputable government-affiliated legal-research publication describing the law, not the primary Korean statutory text itself, so rated attributed rather than verified.
News press reporting on the 2013 enforcement action and on a more recent Ministry of Health and Welfare enforcement plan Checked 2026-09-09.
Reported via news press, not fetched from a primary government filing. A recurring concern, not a single isolated incident.
We looked specifically for a South Korea equivalent to the two CDC-documented outbreaks already covered on our India or Mexico page. The closest CDC-linked peer-reviewed study we found reviewed 2,162 consultations across 17 international and 4 domestic destinations without naming any specific country, and does not mention South Korea anywhere in its text.
21 of 34 relevant consultations showed adverse outcomes (no country named)
A CDC-linked peer-reviewed study that does not name South Korea or any other specific country reviewed 2,162 consultations for travel-related cosmetic-procedure adverse outcomes among US residents (2014-2024), across 17 international and 4 domestic destinations; 34 of those consultations involved travel for medical care, and of those, 21 reports covering roughly 145 patients showed adverse outcomes, 20 involved postsurgical infection, and 4 involved a patient death
McNamara K, Rowh A, Stoney R, Perkins KM, Emerging Infectious Diseases, 32(6):1003-1007, 2026 Checked 2026-09-09.
Some secondary news summaries of this same CDC release loosely list South Korea among popular cosmetic-tourism destinations in the same breath as this study; that is the secondary summary’s own framing, not something stated in the actual peer-reviewed article or CDC release, both of which are country-blind. This finding must not be attributed to South Korea specifically.
That study cannot be read as evidence about South Korea specifically, in either direction. Whichever country you are weighing, the same practical step applies: verify the specific provider’s current license and record before you book, and know your options if something does go wrong. What happens if something goes wrong.
What changes because you are American, or based in the Gulf
Visa, flight time and language, side by side.
US citizens currently do not need a traditional visa for a short stay in South Korea.
K-ETA waived for US citizens through 31 Dec 2026
The K-ETA (Korea Electronic Travel Authorization) requirement for US citizens is waived through 31 December 2026 under a government promotion; US passport holders can enter South Korea without a traditional visa for a short stay, commonly cited as up to 90 days
The K-ETA site confirmed the exemption mechanism directly but did not state the exact stay-length figure on the page fetched; the 90-day figure is corroborated by secondary immigration-law sources, not read verbatim from the primary page.
A dedicated medical-visa channel also exists for patients formally invited by a registered institution. Short-term visa up to 90 days; long-stay up to 1 year It is unclear whether South Korea’s dedicated medical visa for foreign patients is required for treatment or an optional route alongside ordinary visa-free entry; where used, it offers a short-term category (up to 90 days, aimed at simpler procedures such as plastic surgery) and a longer-stay category (up to one year, for stays of 91 or more days), issued to patients formally invited by a government-registered institution. Whether a US citizen having a short, simple procedure is legally required to use that channel, or may rely on ordinary visa-free entry, is a genuine open question we could not resolve against a primary government source. For UAE nationals, the position is also visa-free for short stays. 90 days (most-supported figure) UAE nationals do not need a traditional consular visa for a short stay in South Korea, but may still need a K-ETA travel authorisation before flying; check the official K-ETA portal. Most sources point to a 90 day stay; a smaller number of commercial visa-agency sites state 30 days instead, which reads as an error rather than a second valid rule. India, by contrast, asks patients for a medical visa or e-Medical visa applied for in advance, a real trade-off against South Korea’s simpler paperwork. The Government of India e-Visa portal says e-Medical and e-Medical Attendant applications may be made online at least 4 days before the date of arrival, within a window of 120 days, and that an e-Visa is non-extendable and non-convertible. The Government of India e-Visa portal FAQ says the visa on arrival facility is only for nationals of Japan, South Korea and UAE, and for UAE nationals only if they earlier obtained an e-Visa or a regular paper visa for India. A UAE national who has held an Indian visa before should confirm their own position with the portal or an Indian mission rather than rely on this page. Neither country has a reciprocal, insurance-focused healthcare arrangement with the other region that would make treatment cheaper through coverage portability: the cooperation that does exist between South Korea and the US or the Gulf is oriented toward medical training and research, not patient insurance. No South Korea-Gulf or South Korea-US health-cooperation agreement was found that is a direct analogue to a reciprocal, insurance-focused, cross-border-coverage arrangement. Every South Korea-Gulf and South Korea-US health-cooperation instrument found is oriented toward training, research or capacity-building, not patient insurance or coverage portability.
Medical Korea, the government-run patient-facing site operated under the Ministry of Health and Welfare, cross-checked against an official visa-center document Checked 2026-09-09.
Medical Korea is government-run, but the fetch could not confirm from primary text whether this visa is legally mandatory for a short procedure or an optional formal channel alongside ordinary visa-free entry. Confirm directly against South Korea’s immigration portal or a consulate before stating a firm rule.
Aggregated from commercial visa-agency sites versus a cross-checked general reference on South Korea’s visa policy Checked 2026-09-09.
The Korean embassy’s own UAE visa page could not be fetched directly to settle this with certainty. We are stating the figure the weight of independent sources supports rather than treating both numbers as equally likely; confirm directly against South Korea’s official immigration portal before relying on it for a specific trip.
Government of India e-Visa portal, instructions and FAQ Checked 2026-09-25.
Read directly from the live portal on 25 September 2026; the page shows no date of its own. The portal contradicts itself on how long an e-Medical Visa lasts, so this site states no single validity here. A Ministry of Home Affairs document whose file name suggests 2018 says e-Medical extension may be granted up to six months by the registration office, which the portal does not say; confirm before relying on either. Processing times are not promised, eligibility depends on nationality, and this is not immigration advice.
Government of India e-Visa portal, FAQ on visa on arrival Checked 2026-09-26.
Read directly from the live portal on 26 September 2026; the page shows no date of its own. The FAQ does not say which purposes of visit the facility covers, so it does not say whether treatment is one of them. Rules change, so confirm with the portal or your Indian mission before you book anything. Not immigration advice.
Synthesis of news reporting on named health-authority cooperation agreements, cross-checked against archived US-Korea research-cooperation announcements Checked 2026-09-09.
An honest "we looked and did not find a comparable insurance or coverage-type arrangement" finding, not a claim that no cooperation of any kind exists.
Flight time cuts differently for the two audiences this page is written for.
~12.5-13 hours nonstop
Nonstop flight time from the US West Coast to South Korea is commonly reported as roughly 12.5 to 13 hours, operated by multiple carriers
Compiled from flight-time aggregator data Checked 2026-09-09.
A planning figure compiled from public flight-time aggregators, not a single named authority; airline schedules change.
~15h45m (may blend connections) Nonstop flight time from the US East Coast to South Korea is reported by one aggregator as averaging roughly 15 hours 45 minutes, though nonstop service does exist on this route. That West Coast figure is meaningfully shorter than the roughly 14-hour floor for any US-to-India nonstop already on this site. No nonstop flight from the United States to India currently runs under about 14 hours, and a connecting itinerary from an airport without direct service commonly runs 20 hours or more. From the Gulf, the calculation flips: ~8h20m nonstop Nonstop flight time from the Gulf to South Korea is reported as approximately 8 hours 20 minutes, operated by multiple carriers. About 3 to about 4.5 hours is the approximate nonstop flight time from the United Arab Emirates to India, about 3 hours 10 minutes to 3 hours 20 minutes to the west and north of India and about 3 hours 45 minutes to 4 hours 30 minutes to the south and east, operated by multiple carriers. A Gulf patient is not getting the shorter trip by choosing South Korea.
Flight-time aggregator data Checked 2026-09-09.
This average figure may blend nonstop and connecting itineraries rather than reflecting nonstop-only flight time; recommend cross-checking against specific carriers’ published nonstop schedules before publishing a firm number.
Compiled from airline route information and flight-time aggregator data Checked 2026-09-09.
Airline schedules change. A planning figure to compare against, not a live timetable; confirm current routes before booking.
Compiled from flight-time aggregator data and an airline’s own route page Checked 2026-09-09.
Aggregator-and-airline-page compiled planning figure, not a single named statistical authority.
Compiled from flight-time aggregator and airline data, including a table of historical data from one aggregator and other aggregator pages read on 25 September 2026 Checked 2026-09-25.
Aggregator-compiled planning figure, and the table read is undated. Aggregator times mix scheduled and airborne time and differ by a few minutes, and airline schedules change, so confirm before booking. The India or South Korea page uses the comparison that the flight from the Gulf to South Korea is roughly two to two and a half times longer than to India.
On language, the evidence is mixed.
~75% of surveyed nursing students rated English prep negatively/neutrally
A peer-reviewed 2020 study surveying Korean nursing students found roughly three quarters rated their English-class preparation negatively or neutrally for treating foreign patients, and quoted an unnamed government official stating most Korean doctors and administrative staff do not speak English, or speak it with low fluency. The paper concludes language and communication problems are one of the biggest reasons South Korea is not a leading medical tourism destination
Kim C, Lee SY, Park SH, Iranian Journal of Public Health, 2020, Vol. 49 No. 2, 'Is Korea Ready to Be a Key Player in the Medical Tourism Industry? An English Education Perspective' Checked 2026-09-09.
A nursing-student-preparedness study rather than a direct audit of practising physicians’ English at internationally accredited hospitals, so it should be read as evidence of a genuine documented concern rather than a precise measurement of every hospital’s actual patient-facing English level.
Set against that, South Korea’s government-run foreigner-friendly hospital program, run since 2017 by the health ministry and its industry-development agency, registers hospitals on services including multilingual consultation. South Korea’s government-run program for foreign-patient care, run since 2017 by the Ministry of Health and Welfare and its industry-development agency, registers and evaluates hospitals on foreigner-friendly services including multilingual consultation, with some institutions employing coordinators in English, Chinese, Vietnamese and Russian. India’s clinicians typically work in English as a matter of course, a legacy of how the country trains its doctors.
Medical Korea program description, cross-checked against a 2021 news release on the accreditation program Checked 2026-09-09.
A government-run program description of self-reported and registered service standards, not an independent measurement of actual English proficiency; presented alongside the peer-reviewed study above for balance.
Where South Korea wins outright
For dermatology, cosmetic surgery and a health checkup, this page should probably end here.
If what you need is dermatology, standard cosmetic or plastic surgery, or an executive-style health screening, and you can verify a specific provider’s current standing before you book, South Korea’s own reported numbers back that choice.
~173,000 US patients, +70.4% (2025)
South Korea's inbound American patient volume was about 173,000 in 2025 (8.6 percent of the 2.01 million total), up 70.4 percent year on year, making the United States the fourth-largest source country after China, Japan and Taiwan
Republic of Korea Ministry of Health and Welfare, 2025 release, corroborated by Korea Herald and Korea Biomedical Review Checked 2026-09-09.
The MOHW release confirms the 2.01 million total and specialty breakdown directly; the country-by-country figures, including this US figure, are confirmed consistently across independent news outlets citing the same release, but the country-breakdown table was not found on the primary MOHW page itself.
That is not a small or unusual case. India’s published cosmetic-surgery prices do run lower, as the cost section above shows, and from the Gulf India is the shorter flight, so if price or travel time decides it for you, compare full written quotes from both countries before you choose.
That stops being true once your case turns complex: a cardiac operation, a cancer diagnosis, a transplant, or a fertility case where a specific clinical picture matters more than the size of a country’s cosmetic-surgery market. For those cases, the country matters less than getting an honest second opinion before you book anywhere, which is what our fee-only process exists to give you. Nothing here claims India is the right answer for every reader of this page, only for a narrower set of cases than South Korea’s own market covers.
Summary
Side by side.
| Criterion | India | South Korea |
|---|---|---|
| Strongest in | Cardiac, oncology, transplant, revision orthopaedics | Dermatology and cosmetic or plastic surgery, about 74% of foreign-patient visits |
| Entry requirement | Medical visa or e-Medical visa, applied for in advance | Visa-free short stay for US citizens, with the K-ETA travel authorisation waived through 31 December 2026; UAE nationals: visa-free short stay, but confirm the stay length and K-ETA with the official portal |
| Typical flight from the US | No nonstop under about 14 hours | West Coast nonstop roughly 12.5 to 13 hours; East Coast figures less certain |
| Typical flight from the Gulf | Roughly 3.5 hours nonstop | Roughly 8 hours 20 minutes nonstop, about twice as long |
| Oversight | JCI plus the national NABH scheme | Domestic KOIHA scheme; current international-accreditation count is contested and unconfirmed |
| Representative cost line (rhinoplasty) | Roughly $1,080 to $3,000 | Roughly $2,100 to $9,000 |
| Follow-up at home | Your own doctor | Your own doctor |
Questions
What people ask when choosing between them.
Is South Korea not the obvious choice for cosmetic surgery or a health checkup?
For many readers, yes. South Korea’s own government reporting shows dermatology and cosmetic or plastic surgery make up roughly three quarters of all foreign-patient visits, and its American inbound market for exactly that kind of care grew 70.4 percent in 2025 alone. This page exists for the narrower group of cases, complex cardiac surgery, cancer treatment, transplant and revision surgery, where South Korea’s own inbound volume is not concentrated and India’s is. The United States page covers this too.
Is IVF cheaper in South Korea or in India?
India is typically the least expensive of the three on published pricing, roughly 1,300 to 4,600 dollars per cycle, the same range already on this site for a UAE reader’s comparison. South Korea runs roughly 4,000 to 8,200 dollars, and the United States commonly runs 15,000 to 30,000 dollars once medication, monitoring and lab fees are added. South Korea sits in the middle on cost and runs a national outcomes registry, reporting a pregnancy rate of 30.2 percent per fresh transfer and 42.0 percent per frozen-thawed transfer in 2022, though we could not confirm those two figures against the registry’s own paper directly. Worth knowing before you choose either country: South Korea’s Bioethics and Safety Act and the wording of India’s own ART Act both function in practice to restrict donor-gamete IVF to married or legally recognized couples, so this is not a point where one country is clearly more permissive than the other. More on fertility treatment in India.
Is South Korea's medical-tourism industry regulated and safe?
There is a real, tracked safety dataset, though a different kind from the two CDC-documented clinic outbreaks already covered on our India or Mexico page. A peer-reviewed forensic study of national autopsy records found 50 plastic-surgery deaths in South Korea from 2016 to 2024, 28 percent of them foreign nationals, on a rising trend. A separate 2018 study described widespread unauthorized substitute-surgeon practice in the industry, which led to a 2021 law requiring operating-room CCTV, and unlicensed patient brokers have been a recurring, government-acknowledged problem. None of that means avoid South Korea. It means check the specific provider’s current standing before you book, in either country, and know your options if something goes wrong. What happens if something goes wrong.
You arrange treatment in India. Why would you recommend South Korea?
Because for a lot of readers, especially anyone whose need is dermatology, cosmetic surgery or a health checkup, it is the more sensible answer, and a comparison that concluded for India every time would not be honest. We are paid a flat fee by the patient rather than a commission from any hospital, so pointing you toward South Korea costs us a case rather than protecting one. This is how we are paid.
What about Turkey, Thailand, Mexico or Singapore?
For a reader flying from Europe rather than the United States or the Gulf, Turkey and Thailand split along broadly the same lines this page draws for South Korea, covered separately in India or Turkey and India or Thailand. Mexico is the one worth a second look if you are American and need dental or standard cosmetic work specifically, since it beats South Korea on flight time for that reader in a way this page does not, a case India or Mexico makes in full. Singapore is the outlier of the group: on every procedure we have checked, it costs the same as home or more, which is why its own page reaches the opposite conclusion from the other three.
Weighing a longer-established comparison too? India or Turkey resolves on a similar specialisation split, for a reader flying from Europe instead of the United States or the Gulf.
Work out which country fits your case, before you compare prices.
Thirty minutes, free. If what you need is what South Korea does best, we will tell you that and point you away from us.
